filter: blur(8px); -webkit-filter: blur(8px); filter: blur(8px); -webkit-filter: blur(8px);
top of page

Auburn Sports Review: December 7

Takeo Spikes with Coach Terry Bowdon (Photo: AP/Dave Martin)

It was announced on Wednesday that three former Auburn Tigers would be inducted into the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame. Carnell “Cadillac” Williams and Takeo Spikes represent football, while Lee Defore represents basketball.

Spikes was selected 13th overall by the Cincinnati Bengals during the 1998 NFL Draft, and played 14 seasons for the Cincinnati Bengals, Buffalo Bills, Philadelphia Eagles, San Francisco 49ers, and the San Diego Chargers before retiring in 2013. In that time, Spikes played in 219 games, recorded 1,010 tackles (29 sacks), recovered 17 fumbles (forced 15), and picked off the opposing quarterback 19 times. Currently, Spikes sits at 10th on the all-time list for tackles made during his Auburn career, as he ended with 337 during his three seasons on the Plains (1995-97).

Carnell Williams was a key part in the 2004 Auburn Football team’s success. The running back they called “Cadillac” rushed for 1,165 yards and 12 touchdowns during 2004, a season where he and Ronnie Brown combined to plow through opposing defenses. Williams, along with Brown, Jason Campbell, and Carlos Rogers, were first round draft picks in 2005, with Williams going fifth overall to Tampa Bay. In his seven NFL seasons, Williams rushed for 4,308 yards and 21 touchdowns. Currently, Williams serves as a graduate assistant for the University of West Georgia’s football program.

Finally, Lee Defore was a key player who laid the foundation for the success of Auburn’s Basketball program. He was the first player to ever score 1,000 career points at Auburn, and was Auburn’s leading scorer in 1966 when he was drafted in the fourth round by the New York Knicks. Not only did Defore make a name on the court, he also served as President of the Lettermen Club. Defore lost his battle with cancer in 2014.

The 49th Induction Banquet and Ceremony will take place in the Birmingham Ballroom, at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel, on Saturday, May 13.

In football news, Kicker Daniel Carlson was named as the SEC’s Special Team’s Player of the Year announced by the league office in Birmingham. According to the SEC, Carlson is the SEC's leader in scoring and has connected on 26-of-30 field goal attempts this season. He tied an SEC record with six field goals made in Auburn's win over LSU earlier this season. Carlson is a finalist for the Lou Groza Award, which honors the nation's best kicker.

Pro Football Focus announced their All-SEC team for the 2016 season, and four Auburn Tigers were recognized. Offensive linemen Braden Smith and Robert Leff, as well as kicker Daniel Carlson were named First Team All-SEC, while defensive end Carl Lawson was selected as a second team member.

Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page